Skip to main content

Dental Assisting - eResources

This guide will help you locate resources and information for your course

ABOUT E-RESOURCES

eResources provide online access to many thousands of high quality full text journals, newspapers, books and other information.

How To guides are available. Ask a Librarian if you need more help!

Learn more about library databases and eResources.

Search strategies

ONLINE JOURNALS

Read these full-text journals online - To search for articles on specific topics, use the database search links on this page.

Password required - use your TAFE username and password.

FREE ONLINE MEDICAL JOURNALS & DATABASES

AUSTRALIAN STANDARDS ONLINE

Search Australian Standards Online

What are Standards?

Search Tips

Access and Licence information

TAFE username and password required

Do you need help? - please contact your Campus Library staff.

ENCYCLOPAEDIA BRITANNICA - better than Wikipedia!

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

More information

Password required - use your TAFE username and password.

Use this to look for excellent videos and animations of the human body systems.

ANATOMY TV - by Primal Pictures

Anatomy TV - 3D Human Anatomy - medically accurate and detailed 
3D graphic renderings of human anatomy.

Modules include: 3D Atlas | 3D Real-time | Anatomy & Physiology | Therapy | Functional Anatomy - Sports Injuries, Yoga, Resistance Training | Quizzes and Activities

Password required - use your TAFE username and password.  

Limit of 30 users at a time. Please ensure you use the LOG OFF button to end your session or you may not be able to login again until after the time out period (default time out is 15 minutes).

Browser - please use IE, Firefox, or Safari. You will have to download the unity web player to view some modules. Works on iPad

CHEMWATCH

Provides access to ChemWatch FFX, which includes Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) and chemical databases.

Local password required - contact library.

Staff can access local passwords via Intranet.

RESOURCES AVAILABLE THROUGH EQUELLA

Here is a selection of SOME of the useful resources available through Equella

Password required - use your TAFE username and password.

 

Prepare for & assist with oral health care procedures
Dental radiography
Assist with administration in dental practice
Comply with infection control policies & procedures
Process reusable instruments & equipment in health work
Apply first aid
Communicate and work effectively in health
Participate in WHS processes

FEATURED STANDARDS

How to Access ClickView eVideos

Clickview eVideos : 2000+ educational videos on a wide range of course related topics. Use your TAFE username and password.

 

Students

After logging in, you can browse the subject collections, or search by title or keyword. You can view any program and create your own playlists for future viewing.  If a teacher sends you a playlist, simply log in to watch the eVideo. You will also find a link to ClickView eVideos in your TAFE Student Portal > My Learning box >  More  > ClickView eVideo Collection. Please Sign out of ClickView when finished - use link under your name at top right of screen.

Featured ClickView eVideos

INFECTION CONTROL - SKIN PENETRATION - PROPERLY CLEAN & STERILISE INSTRUMENTS & EQUIPMENT

WEEKEND DENTAL ASSISTANT SCHOOL - ULTRASONIC CLEANING

EFFECTIVE USE OF FOUR-HANDED & SIX-HANDED DENTISTRY

Gordon J. Christensen demonstrates the efficient use of dental assisting staff. 

FEATURED SAFETY eVIDEOS

Hazardous substances - the fundamentals

Safety data sheets : an introduction

Bloodborne pathogens : managing the risk

ISSUES IN SOCIETY E-BOOKS

Issues in Society is an Australian series of books for those who need up-to-date information. Each book is a thoroughly researched compilation of the latest news, facts, opinions and statistics from a range of sources.

User guide - Issues in Society eBooks

Password required - use your TAFE username and password.