Skip to main content

Research Help - Referencing & In-text Citations

Help with all your information and study needs and more

REFERENCING & IN-TEXT CITATIONS

A bibliography or reference list is a complete list of all the books, articles, and other information sources you have used to help you write your essay or assignment. It should be arranged alphabetically by the author's surname.

What's the difference between a bibliography and a reference list?

A bibliography is a list of all the resources that have been read in the researching of your assignment, but not necessarily used.  A reference list includes only the resources that have been used and cited in your assignment.

Why should I reference my work?

  • Demonstrates that you have researched and considered the ideas of others in developing your argument.
  • Provides the person marking the work with the specific names, dates and location of the information sources that you have used.
  • Ensures that you are not guilty of plagiarism.

There are a number of different styles of referencing. TAFE NSW uses the Harvard Referencing System (also known as the 'author-date' system). Check with your teacher that this is the style they would like you to use.

In-text references (citations) are used within the body of your assignment when you paraphrase or quote someone else's ideas or opinions.

Full details must then be recorded in your bibliography or reference list.

Below is a sample bibliography (or reference listentry for a book using this system:

Author's surname, Authors initial(s)year of publication, Title (underlined or in italics), edition (if there is one), Publisher, Place of publication.

Example:  Bee, H 1998, Lifespan development, 2nd edn, Longman, New York.

  • Record details (e.g. author, title, year, page number), preferably electronically, as you take notes
  • Record the URL or web address for websites.
  • Use the library catalogue to get details of books and DVDs; copy and paste these into your bibliography 
  • In online databases, look for Citation information, and copy this into your bibliography
  • When quoting - use " " to show exact wording for in-text citations.
  • Choose your preferred tool from the Tools & Guides tab for adding in-text citations and a reference list - this might be a print guide, an interactive guide like the Sydney Institute Libraries or Southbank Library guide, or the References tool in MS Word.
Loading

REFERENCING USING MICROSOFT WORD 2013

Learn how to use Microsoft Word to create a bibliography and intext citations as you type your assignment.

REFERENCING USING MICROSOFT WORD 2013

This video clip demonstrates how to use the References tab in Word 2013

profgarrett | Jan 29, 2014 

TRY STEP 5 OF OUR INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHIES

An annotated bibliography provides a brief account of the available research on a given topic. It is a list of research sources that includes concise descriptions and evaluations of each source.

Try this great guide from the University of New South Wales - it contains links to more information and other examples.

WHAT'S AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY?

REFERENCING STUDY BUG

The Devonshire Study Bugs attend a lecture that tells them the difference between a reference, citation and bibliography. University of Derby, Devonshire Library (Buxton)

REFERENCING QUIZZES

Test your knowledge of Harvard referencing by completing these quizzes!