Skip to main content

Community Services - eResources

Find subject related resources, websites and information compiled by your friendly librarians

General Help with eResources



  • Take the time to watch the online tutorial for the database of your choice
  • Select full-text when conducting a search
  • Include a date range to ensure up to date information eg 2015-2018
  • Save the articles to a USB drive, this provides easy access and avoids the need to print
  • Use relevant keywords when searching for information
  • Read the abstract to see if the article is relevant
  • Use the Ctrl F (find) function to search the article using your keywords

Tips: Record all your sources.  When you use an article in your assignment, always include the database in the citation so the teacher can easily locate it. See A student's basic guide to referencing: Harvard style - TAFE NSW Libraries July 2017

Need more help?  User guides and video tutorials


Please contact your local library staff for assistance.

If your local library is closed, please contact Wollongong library staff on 4229 0464.

You can also fill in our feedback form

Examples of articles from Databases


Issues in Society is an Australian series of books for those who need up-to-date information. Each book is a thoroughly researched compilation of the latest news, facts, opinions and statistics from a range of sources.

User guide - Issues in Society eBooks

Password required - use your TAFE username and password.

eBooks from Gale Virtual Reference Library

eBooks from the following series: 
Global Viewpoints, In Context, Introducing Issues with Opposing Viewpoints, and Issues that Concern You.

Password required - use your TAFE username and password.

Global Viewpoints series

In Context series

Introducing Issues with Opposing Viewpoints series

Issues That Concern You series


 Online Videos

  • Access for students and staff - Illawarra only. 
  • Password required - use your TAFE username and password. | User guide
  • Summary / teacher notes are available for most videos. Click on the PDF icon  next to the title.

Living with the enemy

This series was shown on SBS TV.  The programs are available for loan from some TAFE NSW Libraries.
Or they may be viewed online. To view the programs you will have to create and account in SBS on demand then click to access these programs here

Living with the enemy explores differences that may impact on social cohesion in Australia by asking people to live with others whose lifestyles and beliefs directly contradict their own.

Same-sex marriage. Living with the enemy. Episode 1. An atheist gay couple spend ten days with a conservative Anglican minister.

Detention Centres. Living with the enemy. Episode 2.  Morteza is a former 'boat person' who spent four years in detention centres. He will live with Jenni for ten days. She believes that asylum seekers should not be allowed in Australia.

Immigration. Living with the enemy. Episode 320,000 Sudanese refugees have recently arrived in Australia, some after many years in camps. Many have experienced racism.

Islam. Living with the enemy. Episode 4. Lydia and Ahmed try to convince Ben that there are moderate Muslims.

Hunters. Living with the enemy. Episode 5. Two Australians who have different views on the ethics of animal hunting, must live in each other's worlds for ten days.

Marijuana. Living with the enemy. Episode 6. Michael, Australia's no.1 public advocate for marijuana, and former drug-user Kerry, who is now a school drug educator, spend ten days living together debating the legalisation of marijuana.


 RealTime Health videos 

RealTime Health Videos is a collection of short online video clips about the patient and carer experience of a range of illnesses.

More information

Password required - enter your TAFE username and password.

List of titles for loan from libraries.

For more videos, visit the full collection of RealTime Health videos

Britannica Academic


Britannica Academic delivers high-quality, comprehensive information, combining the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools. Written by experts, Britannica Academic provides trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights.

Password required - use your TAFE username and password.