Do you want to BYOD? (Bring Your Own Device)
TAFE NSW students & staff must manually configure your device first (see brief guides below) and use your current TAFE username and password.
Note: Some social media apps are blocked from the TAFENSW Wi-Fi network.
TAFE NSW makes every effort to ensure that its network environment is safe and secure, but takes no responsibility for the configuration or security of privately owned devices. Staff and students of TAFE NSW who use privately owned devices to access the TAFE network do so at their own risk.
Please note: the TAFENSW wireless network is not available to the general public.
The Student Technology Service Desk (STSD) can support you as you learn through the virtual classroom. Read more on this Student InfoSheet.
The Student Technology Service Desk (STSD) provides assistance with:
How do I contact the ICT Student Technology Service Desk?
A bibliography or reference list is a complete list of all the books, articles, and other information sources you have used to help you write your essay or assignment. It should be arranged alphabetically by the author's surname.
TAFE NSW mostly follows the Harvard referencing system, but we advise you to check with your teacher.
For help in compiling a reference list or bibliography, please refer to our Researching and Referencing Guide or ask your Librarian.
If you are a TAFE NSW Higher Education student, you should use the referencing guide available to you via the Higher Education Moodle.
Office 365 Education is now available free to current TAFE NSW students. It includes online versions of Word, PowerPoint, Excel, OneNote, Outlook, OneDrive and Teams. Available for your desktop or mobile devices including Android, iPad, and Windows tablets.
Office 365 Education - Current TAFE Students provides more information and a website link.
As at 1 June 2020, no TAFE NSW libraries are open on the weekends. View library opening hours for all TAFE NSW libraries, select your local library from the list.
Most libraries are open from Monday to Friday during TAFE NSW teaching weeks and some larger libraries are open in the evenings. Note: Due to COVID-19 restrictions, some libraries have reduced their normal opening hours during Term 2, 2020.
Please be aware that library hours will vary during TAFE vacations, with some libraries closed. Vacation hours are advertised from two weeks before each vacation period.
Members of the public can join TAFE NSW libraries as Associate Borrowers, for a fee of $100 per year. This provides restricted access to the collection.
For more details see the Associate Borrowers policy.
Your TAFE student email account is accessed via the TAFE Student Portal. Just log in with your current TAFE username and password.
Your TAFE email address looks like this: email@example.com (make sure you insert your own username where it says yourusername).
You can also watch this Guide to using your Student Email for more information.
Note: The account is disabled 90 days after your course finishes.
Please contact your teacher for the enrolment key to your Moodle course.
Once you have logged into Moodle you can use the Search Courses box on the right of the screen to search for your course by name or number. Once you locate it, click on the course, then enter your enrolment key. Don’t know your enrolment key? Ask your teacher.
If, however, your course used to appear on your Moodle dashboard but no longer does, please contact your teacher as soon as possible - please do not attempt to re-enrol in your course! Your teacher will be able to get in contact with someone who can help.
You can access your Moodle course from the TAFE Illawarra Moodle link.
You will need your TAFE username and password as well as an Enrolment Key, which your teacher will issue you.
If you do not know your TAFE username and password or you need help accessing or using your Moodle, contact your teacher or your Library staff.
You can visit the Moodle Help site for more information.
This information is always available under 'Moodle Help' whenever you access the TAFE Illawarra Moodle site.
Double check that you are typing in the correct TAFE username and password. The Moodle system is case sensitive. Your password may include both upper and lower case.
If that still doesn’t work, contact Customer Service Centre staff to check that your enrolment is up to date and the username you have is correct. Call 131 601 or use the TAFE NSW Enquire page.
If your enrolment is up to date, your campus library can also assist with resetting your password.
When a teacher sets up an assignment/assessment to be submitted in Moodle, one of the setting options allows the teacher to choose the maximum number of uploaded files that can be submitted for the assignment. If the teacher leaves the default setting of one this will mean that only one file can be uploaded for the assignment/assessment in total.
A teacher can send an email to the IT Service Desk to request a change to the setting for the assignment/assessment (if there aren't yet any submissions).
Any student who might need to upload more than one file and cannot do so, should contact their teacher.
You can also try zipping the files and then try uploading the zipped file.
Ask one of our friendly librarians for help or visit one of these guides:
Research & referencing guide - Support for students and staff on research skills, study and writing skills and digital literacy.
Referencing skills - how to list the books, articles, websites and other information sources you have used to help write your essay or assignment.
Copyright - Copyright basics for students and teachers, copyright fee free resources and guidelines for content developers.
Plagiarism - this occurs when a person uses another person's ideas, writing or work and does not acknowledge the original source. Find out more!
Images - Information on how to find and use images in an online environment
Technology for Learning guide - Find out about studying online, downloading software, Wi-Fi setup, password resets, FAQs, printing, copying and scanning.
Office 365 - available free to current TAFE NSW students. It includes online versions of Word, PowerPoint, Excel, OneNote, Outlook, OneDrive and Teams. Available for your desktop or mobile devices including Android, iPad, and Windows tablets.
read&write - this is a software program that provides reading, comprehension, writing and study skills support - use at TAFE or at home.
LinkedIn Learning - Access online video tutorials to help you learn software, presentation, communication, creative and business skills. Learn Microsoft programs, and a whole lot more.
Adobe Creative Cloud - All TAFE NSW students have access to any Adobe Creative Cloud application installed on TAFE student computers. Your TAFE username and password required.
Autodesk software - free access to more than 100 products, including: AutoCAD, Revit, Inventor, Maya, 3ds Max. TAFE NSW students and educators have access to a 1-year educational license, to be used for educational purposes only.
TAFE Student portal guide - introduction to what you will find in your Student Portal and Learner Portal.
Using your student email guide - a guide to accessing your TAFE Student email account.
TAFE Staff portal guide - introduction to what you will find in your Staff Portal.