Skip to main content

Discover - Services for Staff

Visit your local library for personal assistance or use our online guides, resources and services

Library Resources and Services

Your local campus library provides you with personal assistance, and access to a wide range of resources, facilities and services.


Borrowing

You can borrow in person or request an inter-library loan. All you need is your TAFEcard.
First time user?    Please bring proof of your TAFE NSW staff status.

Library Subject Guides

You can access the library's tailor-made online Subject Guides which are designed for TAFE NSW teachers and students. Organised into relevant subject areas, you can access these guides from any computer or mobile device. You will find:

  • links to resources for loan including books, DVDs and journals
  • library catalogue searches for your topics
  • online databases with full-text journal articles
  • eResources such as eBooks and eVideos
  • selected, high quality websites
  • research tips and referencing guides.

eBooks, eJournals, eVideos, Databases and Standards

Access to relevant and current information is essential to your students’ success.

Ask your librarian to show you how easy it is to search the eResources which will give you access to full-text journals, newspapers, eBooks, eVideos, encyclopedias and other databases.

You will also find subject and industry specific databases such as Australian Standards, Anatomy TV, IBIS WorldPlantFile Online and more.

Try the library's online videos - these include:

  • ClickView online videos. Over 2000 titles available now and streamed direct to your desktop or mobile device.
  • Safetyhub - Safetycare online videos - over 80 Australian workplace safety training videos.
  • Films on Demand - 30,000+ full length documentaries and clips covering a wide range of subject areas including careers, technical and vocational, business and the arts.

Available to all TAFE Illawarra students and staff – simply select a title and enter your TAFE username and password.

Ideas for teachers: use in class with a digital projector or book an interactive classroom, have students watch individually on classroom computers, or at home. You can also embed any of these videos in your Moodle courses.

Contact your local campus library for help with all eResources.

Copyright Compliance

Copyright information on the TAFE NSW Intranet
Learning Services provide liaison with the National Copyright Unit on behalf of TAFE NSW and acts as a central contact and representative for the National Copyright Advisory Group. They provide advice and guidance to Institutes regarding copyright licensing matters and changes to legislation.
TAFE Staff username and password required for access.

Visit the Library's Copyright guide for more information.

Read & Write Learning Support Software

read&write is a software program that provides reading, comprehension, writing and study skills support across multiple operating systems, web browsers, and document formats (including Microsoft Office 365, Google files, PDFs). read&write is installed on all TAFE NSW computers and is available for download on personal computers for use at home. 

read&write guide for TAFE NSW

If you wish to install the software on your own device, use the appropriate instructions:

Information and Digital Literacy Online Tutorials

The following online tutorials are available for staff to promote to their students:

  • Research Skills
  • Searching the Internet
  • Referencing and Bibliographies
  • eResources
  • Library Catalogue
  • ​Careers and Job Searching
  • Statistics
  • Stay Safe Online
  • Read&Write - Introduction
  • Read&Write - Advanced

Please check back for new content.

In addition, some libraries are offering customised information or digital literacy sessions via Teams. Please contact your local library. Students who require 1:1 assessment help should contact their local library for availability. 

Information and Digital Literacy classes and 1:1 help

Help your students learn how to locate, evaluate and reference information.

Library tours and classes are available as part of the Information & Digitial Literacy program at your campus library. Librarians work with you to prepare relevant sessions targeted to your students' needs.

These sessions usually take place in class groups, but students can also request an individual session. If you are interested in a session, please contact your library.
Note: Sessions are offered subject to the availability of resources, facilities and staff time.

  

This tour introduces you to the range of library services and facilities, including a brief introduction to the Library Catalogue. If you're a new student, it is a great idea to take part in this basic session.

 

This program prepares students for learning at TAFE NSW. Teachers can choose from a range of sessions (supported by a student Moodle) which introduce students to accessing and using TAFE systems, managing time and stress, developing study techniques for successful learning, and acquiring skills to complete assessments.

  

Learn basic research skills such as understanding the assignment question, constructing a bibliography, searching the library catalogue and locating appropriate library resources.

  

In this session you will learn about referencing and bibliographies, plagiarism and copyright, the Harvard referencing style and how to locate the details needed to cite a book; journal or newspaper article; non-book item; internet pages.

  

You will be introduced to a range of eResources which give you access to eBooks, eJournals and eVideos, full-text journal and newspaper articles, and specialist information such as Australian Standards, and the National Construction Code. This session can cover one eResource in-depth or briefly introduce a number of eResources.

  

This session will introduce you to search engines and directories as well as covering search strategies and how to evaluate the quality of information retrieved from the Internet.

  

You will be shown how to locate relevant statistics for your assignments, using books, journals, websites and eResources. See some of this content on our online guide to Statistics.

  

This session will show you how to access and what you will find in your Student Portal. These include an email account and access to your Learner Portal where you can view your enrolment record and results.

  

This session introduces students to LinkedIn Learning, an online video tutorial and training website that teaches users software, business and design skills.

  

This session introduces students to career and job searching resources.

  

Students can book a 1:1 or small group session with library staff for assessment or technology help. These can be conducted on the spot or booked at a time suitable to the student(s).

  

If you need a specialised class, talk to us and we will design one to meet your needs.

LinkedIn Learning - Creative, Business and Technology tutorials

Learn online at your own pace with the LinkedIn Learning library of 10,000+ creative, business, and technology courses. TAFE NSW provides free access to current staff and students to help you achieve your personal and professional goals. This library has high quality, engaging video tutorials taught by recognised industry experts which can be viewed on desktops and mobile devices.

You can also search for LinkedIn Learning course in the TAFE NSW Library Catalogue.

 

For login instructions via the TAFE NSW Portal go to the Support and FAQ page.

Capability Development for Staff

Capability Development

TAFE Staff username and password required for access

TAFE NSW Capability Central - capability development resources for individuals and teams as well as online learning options.

People@TAFE - TAFE NSW capability and performance development tool. Find and apply for capability development activities and track your attendance.

Digital Teaching Support An online knowledge sharing space, supporting capability development for teachers and support staff working in digital development and facilitation.

TAFE Systems and Technology - resources to assist staff in understanding current processes, systems and technologies.

  TAFE NSW Wi-Fi Access Guides

Do you want to BYOD? (Bring Your Own Device)

TAFE NSW students & staff must manually configure your device first (see brief guides below) and use your current TAFE username and password.

TAFE NSW Wi-Fi Support

Note: Some social media apps are blocked from the TAFENSW Wi-Fi network.

TAFE NSW makes every effort to ensure that its network environment is safe and secure, but takes no responsibility for the configuration or security of privately owned devices. Staff and students of TAFE NSW who use privately owned devices to access the TAFE network do so at their own risk.
Please note: the TAFENSW wireless network is not available to the general public.

Microsoft and other software for home use - Staff

Microsoft Office 365 - TAFE NSW staff can access their staff account from anywhere by logging in with their TAFE email address: http://portal.office365.com

Products such as Microsoft Office, Windows 10, antivirus and other software may be available to TAFE staff free or at reduced rates. For up-to date information about software for home use (WAH - Work at Home agreement) and conditions of use, please contact the TAFE NSW IT Service Desk.  To see what is currently available, visit the online store TAFE NSW On the Hub. Tip: Use your @tafensw.edu.au email address to register. 

For your students - please see Office 365 Education - Current TAFE Students

Adobe Creative Cloud

All TAFE NSW students have access to any Adobe Creative Cloud application installed on TAFE student computers.

  • Select the required Adobe Creative Cloud Software installed on a TAFE student computer
  • Log into Adobe Creative Cloud applications using your TAFE email firstname.lastname1@studytafensw.edu.au and password.

Instructions on how students sign in to Adobe Creative Cloud on TAFE NSW computers

Please note: Students enrolled in selected Creative Design & Innovation, Infrastructure, Energy and Construction, Technology and Business Services Industry qualifications can download and install the Adobe Creative Cloud applications to their personal devices. Teachers will need to nominate students for this access.

To nominate students for access to Adobe Creative Cloud at home, teachers must: