Skip to main content

Discover - Services for Students

Visit your local library for personal assistance or use our online guides, resources and services

  Your TAFE Username and Password

These are usually provided when you enrol in a course. If you do not have your username and password, please ask staff at your Campus Library or Customer Service Centre. 

Your TAFE user name and password provides access to:
    The TAFENSW Wi-Fi network for personal laptops and other devices
    Your TAFE student record
    Your TAFE email account
    Library eResources - eBooks, eVideos and lots more
     LinkedIn Learning
    Moodle - online learning site

Students must abide by the TAFE NSW Online Communication Services policies

  TAFE Student Portal

What is the TAFE Student Portal?

Use the Portal to: check your enrolment details, change your password, access your TAFE email account, view your results, access ClickView eVideos, learn with LinkedIn Learning video tutorials and more!   Log on to the Student Portal now 

or watch the guided tour:

undefined

Find out more about the Student Portal

Explore this guide to using your TAFE email

  TAFE NSW Wi-Fi Access Guides

Do you want to BYOD? (Bring Your Own Device)

TAFE NSW students & staff must manually configure your device first (see brief guides below) and use your current TAFE username and password.

TAFE NSW Wi-Fi Support

Note: Some social media apps are blocked from the TAFENSW Wi-Fi network.

TAFE NSW makes every effort to ensure that its network environment is safe and secure, but takes no responsibility for the configuration or security of privately owned devices. Staff and students of TAFE NSW who use privately owned devices to access the TAFE network do so at their own risk.
Please note: the TAFENSW wireless network is not available to the general public.

Office 365 Education - Current TAFE Students


Office 365 Education
 is now available free to current TAFE NSW students. It includes online versions of Word, PowerPoint, Excel, OneNote, Outlook, OneDrive and Teams. Available for your desktop or mobile devices including Android, iPad, and Windows tablets. 

Important: please read: Welcome to your TAFE NSW Office 365 account

To sign up you will need to use your TAFE NSW email account:

firstname.lastname@studytafensw.edu.au

You can check what your email is by logging into your Student Portal.

When you have your TAFE email address, please go to:

  • Office.com
  • Enter your TAFE NSW email address (e.g. john.citzen2@studytafensw.edu.au) and follow the prompts.

Free access to Office 365 is available to you for the duration of your course.

Help

How do I install Office 365 applications?

How do I access OneDrive for storing documents and files?​

Read & Write Learning Support Software

read&write is a software program that provides reading, comprehension, writing and study skills support across multiple operating systems, web browsers, and document formats (including Microsoft Office 365, Google files, PDFs). read&write is installed on all TAFE NSW computers and is available for download on personal computers for use at home. 

read&write guide for TAFE NSW

If you wish to install the software on your own device, use the appropriate instructions:

Watch a video about Read & Write

Information and Digital Literacy Online Tutorials

The following online tutorials are available for students:

  • Research Skills
  • Searching the Internet
  • Referencing and Bibliographies
  • eResources
  • Library Catalogue
  • ​Careers and Job Searching
  • Statistics
  • Stay Safe Online
  • Read&Write - Introduction
  • Read&Write - Advanced

Students who require 1:1 assessment help should contact their local library for availability. 

  Assessment Help

Do you need HELP with your assessments? 

Make an appointment with Library staff today!  We can help you:

  Find the information you need

  Create a bibliography or reference list

  Organise & present your information

  Learn how to access your Student Portal, TAFE email, Moodle course, TAFE WIFI and LinkedIn Learning

 Visit or contact your local Library today. Too busy to come in person? Try our online Research Help guide.

Learner Support Services

Learner Support teachers are available at Study Centres at the following times:

  • Shellharbour
    ​Monday 3:00pm - 4:30pm (Room DG.24); Tuesday and Thursday 3:00pm - 5:00pm (Library)
  • Wollongong (in Library)
    Monday - Wednesday 2:00pm - 5:00pm; Thursday 2:30pm - 5:00pm; Friday 11:00am - 12:30pm, 1:30pm - 2:30pm

Find out about other TAFE Study Support Services

  Information and Digital Literacy classes and 1:1 help

Learn how to locate and evaluate information for your assignments

Library tours and classes are available as part of an Information Skills program at your campus library to teach you how to locate and evaluate information for your assignments.  Your teachers and librarians work together to prepare relevant sessions targeted to your needs.

These sessions usually take place in class groups, but you can also book an individual session. If you are interested in a session, please contact your library.
Sessions are offered subject to the availability of resources, facilities and staff time
.

  

This tour introduces you to the range of library services and facilities, including a brief introduction to the Library Catalogue. If you're a new student, it is a great idea to take part in this basic session. Visit your Campus Library guide for more information.

 

This program prepares students for learning at TAFE NSW. Teachers can choose from a range of sessions (supported by a student Moodle) which introduce students to accessing and using TAFE systems, managing time and stress, developing study techniques for successful learning, and acquiring skills to complete assessments.

  

Learn basic research skills such as understanding the assignment question, constructing a bibliography, searching the library catalogue and locating appropriate library resources. You can also try our Research Skills tutorial, and our Research Help guide

  

In this session you will learn about referencing and bibliographies, plagiarism and copyright, the Harvard referencing style and how to locate the details needed to cite a book; journal or newspaper article; non-book item; internet pages. 
Try our Research Help guide for more information

  

You will be introduced to a range of eResources which give you access to eBooks, eJournals and eVideos, full-text journal and newspaper articles, and specialist information such as Australian Standards, and the National Construction Code. This session can cover one eResource in-depth or briefly introduce a number of eResources.

  

This session will introduce you to search engines and directories as well as covering search strategies and how to evaluate the quality of information retrieved from the Internet.

  

You will be shown how to locate relevant statistics for your assignments, using books, journals, websites and eResources. See some of this content on our online guide to Statistics.

  

This session will show you how to access and what you will find in your Student Portal. These include an email account and access to your Learner Portal where you can view your enrolment record and results.

If you can't come to a session, watch our Student Portal tutorial.

  

  

Students can book a 1:1 or small group session with library staff for assessment or technology help. These can be conducted on the spot or booked at a time suitable to the student(s).

Adobe Creative Cloud

All TAFE NSW students have access to any Adobe Creative Cloud application installed on TAFE student computers. 

To access, select the required Adobe Creative Cloud Software and log into Adobe Creative Cloud applications, using your TAFE email firstname.lastname1@studytafensw.edu.au and password.

Instructions on how students sign in to Adobe Creative Cloud on TAFE NSW computers

Please note: Students enrolled in selected Creative Design & Innovation, Infrastructure, Energy and Construction, Technology and Business Services Industry qualifications can download and install the Adobe Creative Cloud applications to their personal devices. Your teacher will need to nominate you for this access. More information.

LinkedIn Learning - Creative, Business and Technology tutorials

Learn online at your own pace with the LinkedIn Learning library of 10,000+ creative, business, and technology courses. TAFE NSW provides free access to current staff and students to help you achieve your personal and professional goals. This library has high quality, engaging video tutorials taught by recognised industry experts which can be viewed on desktops and mobile devices.

You can also search for LinkedIn Learning course in the TAFE NSW Library Catalogue.

 

For login instructions via the TAFE NSW Portal go to the Support and FAQ page.

Smarthinking

 

Smarthinking is an addition to the wide variety of study support services that TAFE NSW already offer to help students with their learning needs, so you have the flexibility to choose the study support option that best suits you.

Free after hours study help, including expert assistance with subjects like writing, maths, science, economics and more. A friendly support team is waiting online to help you, 3:00 pm till late, Monday to Thursday and 24/7 Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
You can:

  • Get constructive writing feedback on academic writing, including structure, grammar, referencing, punctuation and spelling in less than 24 hours unless otherwise advised,
    and/or
  • ​Access drop-in tutoring after hours for personalised chat help with one of the Smarthinking tutors to receive foundational assistance in the subjects of reading and writing, maths and statistics, business and more.