Skip to main content

eResources - Help Guides & Video Tutorials

Online access to eBooks, eVideos, encyclopedias, journals, newspapers, Australian Standards, TAFE Exam Papers and other databases

General Help with eResources


  • Log in to the eResource using your TAFE username and password.
  • Enter your search terms to locate the required information.
  • Use the online Help function within each eResource, or access the user guides and tutorials on this page.
  • Contact your local library staff for assistance and training.


  • Take the time to watch the online tutorial for the database of your choice
  • Select full-text when conducting a search
  • Include a date range to ensure up to date information eg 2015-2018
  • Save the articles to a USB drive, this provides easy access and avoids the need to print
  • Use relevant keywords when searching for information
  • Read the abstract to see if the article is relevant
  • Use the Ctrl F (find) function to search the article using your keywords

Tips: Record all your sources.  When you use an article in your assignment, always include the database in the citation so the teacher can easily locate it. See A student's basic guide to referencing: Harvard style - TAFE NSW Libraries July 2017

Need more help? See the user guides and video tutorials on this page.


Please contact your local library staff for assistance.

If your local library is closed, please contact Wollongong library staff on 4229 0464.

You can also fill in our feedback form

Setting up Alerts

Set up an email alert to let you know when new content on a particular topic is added to a database or when a new issue of a particular journal becomes available.

EBSCOhost Databases

GALE Databases

ProQuest Databases

A+ Education (Informit) Tutorial

Academic OneFile Tutorial - Browse by Discipline

EBSCOhost Tutorials

General OneFile - InfoTrac Basics (Gale Databases)

ProQuest Database Tutorials