Skip to main content

eResources - News & Current Issues

Online access to eBooks, eVideos, encyclopedias, journals, newspapers, Australian Standards, TAFE Exam Papers and other databases

Australia/New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre

ANZ Points of View assists with understanding the full scope of controversial subjects across the region. It provides a balance of information, presenting multiple points of view about current issues. Each Points of View essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles

Search Australia/New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre

Password required - use your TAFE username and password. 
The database contains 130 topics, including:

Abortion
Animal experimentation
Australian bill of rights
Bullying
Climate change
Cloning
Freedom of speech
Gay marriage
Globalisation
Green consumerism
Nuclear energy
Population growth
Preserving the Great Barrier Reef
Renewable energy
Services for Indigenous Peoples
Stem cell research

Trove - Digitised Australian Newspapers from 1803 - 1954

Digitised newspapers and more on Trove - provided by The National Library of Australia.
Includes newspapers from each Australian state and territory and from the earliest published newspaper in 1803, to the mid-20th century, including some community language newspapers.

View a list of all newspaper titles

Trove logo

Catch-up TV

Have you missed a free-to-air TV program recently?

You might be able to catch up by searching one of these catch-up TV websites:

Issues in Society - eBook Collection

Access all 100 Issues in Society eBooks

Issues in Society is an Australian series of books with a compilation of the latest news, facts, opinions and statistics. The latest issues (2011 - 2017) are available as eBooks. See box below for recent titles.
Password required - use your TAFE username and password. To download the eBooks to your device - please read the user guide.  

Need help? - contact your local campus library staff

Access these eBooks by subject area:
Community Services Health & Wellbeing
Crime & Justice Immigration & Nationhood
Drugs & Alcohol Media & Communication
Environment & Global Issues        Rights & Discrimination
Family & Relationships Science & Bioethics
Print versions of all 120 Issues in Society titles are available for loan from campus libraries. Visit the Issues in Society Books for Loan page to find out more.

Koori Mail - read issues online

Produced fortnightly since 1991, the Koori Mail is distributed Australia-wide, providing news, views, advertisements and other material of vital interest to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians and Australians interested in Indigenous affairs; it is recognised as ‘The Voice of Indigenous Australia’.