Skip to main content

ESOL - English for Speakers of Other Languages - Welcome

Find subject related resources, websites and information compiled by your friendly librarians

About this Guide

This guide will help you locate resources about ESOL

Use the page tabs above to find relevant online and library resources.

  • On the Shelves - will help you find resources in the Library
  • eResources - access to online journals and lots more
  • Websites - a collection of relevant websites
  • In the Media - newspapers, news sites, TV shows and RSS feeds
  • Research Help - covers research skills, referencing, plagiarism and more

Guide editor: Robert Ivancic - Wollongong Library. Phone: 4229 0464
Need more help? Contact library staff - we are happy to assist. 
We value your feedback: Please use this form

Clarity English - Road to IELTS, Active Reading and Tense Buster

Clarity English includes the following products: Road to IELTS, Active Reading and Tense Buster.

  • Recommended browsers are Google Chrome and Firefox. Note: The products do not work in Internet Explorer
  • AdobeFlash is required for Active Reading and may require downloading. Follow the instructions after logging in. It is possible to bypass downloading the update if using Firefox.
  • Password required - use your TAFE username and password.
  • Users can create an account or use the activities without logging in.
  • 50 concurrent licences for each product.

 

Road to IELTS - International English Language Testing System

Road to IELTS  is the British Council’s comprehensive, 100% online IELTS preparation and practice course. This includes over 300 interactive activities, 17 videos giving advice and tutorials, hints and tips and 36 practice tests. 2 options - General Training module or the Academic module. Limited access - 50 concurrent licences.

Active Reading - Learn to love reading! 

Active Reading helps you improve your reading skills. You will read different texts and learn many new reading skills. Throughout the program, learners work with texts which are relevant, stimulating and lively (topics include travel, fashion, gaming) each with a range of thought-provoking activities.

The program has six levels from Elementary to Advanced, with ten units in each level. Each unit has a topic and a focus on a reading skill or subskill. At the lower levels these include vocabulary strategies and understanding your purpose for reading. At the Advanced level students learn to infer meaning in a text and study structure and organisation. Limited access - 50 concurrent licences.

Tense Buster - Break through the grammar barrier! 

Tense Buster helps you improve your grammar in 33 key grammar areas from the simple present tense at the Elementary level to phrasal verbs at the Advanced level. It also helps with listening, vocabulary and study skills. 

Within each unit, learners both encounter and use a variety of text types from radio broadcasts to quizzes to newspaper articles. Each unit includes both controlled practice exercises and free activities to complete away from the computer.  Limited access - 50 concurrent licences.

Read & Write Learning Support Software

read&write is a software program that provides reading, comprehension, writing and study skills support across multiple operating systems, web browsers, and document formats (including Microsoft Office 365, Google files, PDFs). read&write is installed on all TAFE NSW computers and is available for download on personal computers for use at home. 

read&write guide for TAFE NSW

If you wish to install the software on your own device, use the appropriate instructions:

Watch a video about Read & Write

How to Access ClickView eVideos

  

Clickview eVideos : 3000+ educational videos on a wide range of course related topics. Use your TAFE username and password.

Students

After logging in, you can browse the subject collections, or search by title or keyword. You can view any program and create your own playlists for future viewing.  If a teacher sends you a playlist, simply log in to watch the eVideo. You will also find a link to ClickView eVideos in your TAFE Student Portal > My Learning box >  ClickView eVideo Collection. Please Sign out of ClickView when finished - use link under your name at top right of screen.