Skip to main content

Horticulture - eResources

Find subject related resources, websites and information compiled by your friendly librarians

General Help with eResources



  • Take the time to watch the online tutorial for the database of your choice
  • Select full-text when conducting a search
  • Include a date range to ensure up to date information eg 2015-2018
  • Save the articles to a USB drive, this provides easy access and avoids the need to print
  • Use relevant keywords when searching for information
  • Read the abstract to see if the article is relevant
  • Use the Ctrl F (find) function to search the article using your keywords

Tips: Record all your sources.  When you use an article in your assignment, always include the database in the citation so the teacher can easily locate it. See A student's basic guide to referencing: Harvard style - TAFE NSW Libraries July 2017

Need more help?  User guides and video tutorials


Please contact your local library staff for assistance.

If your local library is closed, please contact Wollongong library staff on 4229 0464.

You can also fill in our feedback form

How to Access ClickView eVideos


Clickview eVideos : 2500+ educational videos on a wide range of course related topics. Use your TAFE username and password.


After logging in, you can browse the subject collections, or search by title or keyword. You can view any program and create your own playlists for future viewing.  If a teacher sends you a playlist, simply log in to watch the eVideo. You will also find a link to ClickView eVideos in your TAFE Student Portal > My Learning box >  ClickView eVideo Collection. Please Sign out of ClickView when finished - use link under your name at top right of screen.

Issues in Society - eBooks

Issues in Society is an Australian series of books for those who need up-to-date information. Each book is a thoroughly researched compilation of the latest news, facts, opinions and statistics from a range of sources. More titles

User guide - Issues in Society eBooks

Password required - use your TAFE username and password.


Provides access to ChemWatch Gold FFX, which includes Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) and chemical databases.

Local password required - contact library.

Staff can access local passwords via Intranet.

Featured eBooks- From EBSCOhost

NEW - Over 300 eBooks available in EBSCOhost.

Password required - Use your TAFE username & password for initial access and online viewing.

Read the eBooks User Guide for important information about online viewing and download instructions.

Britannica Academic


Britannica Academic delivers high-quality, comprehensive information, combining the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools. Written by experts, Britannica Academic provides trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights.

Password required - use your TAFE username and password.

PlantFile Online

PlantFile Online contains detailed information on more than 3000 plants, 20,000+ images of plants, insects & diseases.

Password required - use your TAFE username and password.

Tip: Works best with Google Chrome or other non IE browsers

Extra features - Personal storage, quiz, myPlantFile and printing: After logging in through the link above, you can create a personal account free of charge. Click on Subscribe - and fill in the form. An email will be sent to verify your account. 
Watch the video tutorials below:

1 - Registration, Saving plants to a file and the Quiz

2 - Adding your own plants, User Data Input

Australian Standards Online

Password required - use your TAFE username and password

Databases for Horticulture, Conservation and Land Management

To search for articles on specific topics, use the database links below. To see topics in each database click on the information (i) icon.
See the box above for user guides.
Password required - use your TAFE username and password.

Online Journals

Read these full-text journals online - To search for articles on specific topics, use the database search links on this page.

Password required - use your TAFE username and password.

National Construction Code (NCC) Online

The National Construction Code sets the minimum requirements for the design, construction and performance of buildings throughout Australia.

  • Volume One - covers Class 2 to 9 (multi-residential, commercial, industrial and public) buildings and structures. 
  • Volume Two - covers for Class 1 (residential) and Class 10 (non-habitable) buildings and structures. 
  • Volume Three - covers plumbing and drainage for all classes of buildings.

National Construction Code (NCC)

You must use the online registration form to access the NCC. Registrations are for individuals only; there is no shared access for organisations. Each user will have their own unique login details and can then download copies of the volumes and access training materials.

*The NCC Standards interactive house provides links to Australian Standards for purchase. To access these for free through the TAFE NSW subscription, you will need to search Australian Standards Online.